ADVERTISEMENT

I got this email about a Southern Miss basketball fundraising event in Hattiesburg on 28 September...

CoastGuardEagle

BGN Legend
Gold Member
Nov 2, 2002
Good morning,

I am sending this e-mail on behalf of Jay Ladner and his basketball program at Southern Miss. Jay has been a friend of mine over the last 15 years and he and I have come together to create an evening to celebrate the 2023 SunBelt Champions and help them tip off the season with a great evening on Thursday September 28th at the Lake Terrace Convention Center in Hattiesburg.

This event is going to be a first of it's kind event as we will be raising awareness for the newly founded rules around Name, Image and Likeness for student-athletes. In transparency, I am a former basketball coach. I was recently fired in March and replaced by Will Wade, yes that Will Wade, I was fired for a guy that was immediately suspended 10 games because of violations while he coached at LSU. Ironically, his first game coaching for McNeese will be against Jay and the Southern Miss Golden Eagles.

Name, Image and Likeness is a four letter word in many circles, and I get that as well as anybody. I was fired in part because I did not participate and was replaced by a guy who has been providing NIL for years. So I came to Jay with the concept of raising money, educating the fan base and celebrating his team's accomplishment. Coach Tim Floyd has agreed to be our guest speaker. The night will include a fantastic meal, silent and live auctions, opportunities to visit with the basketball players who will be in tuxedos and dressed to the nines. The evening will end with some dancing to the sounds of Lloyd Munn and his band.