ADVERTISEMENT

Deja vu all over again. I think we knew UTSA was better than their record

scotteagle

All Conference
Gold Member
Oct 30, 2002
but this is silly. Our guys are flat, unprepared, and totally out of sync. Of course we can come back, but this isn't Rice or Savannah. let's go Eagles, settle down and play football.

"Fortunately" channel 35 in Jackson which is carrying the game is scrambled so I can't see it. yikes.

Enough with the SWAC remarks. Hell your beloved ELOSS Johnson was SEC approved and he was 0-12 and destroyed our program. We look like crap today no doubt.

Reactions: BR Eagle
I have been attending USM games since the 1960's, and I can tell you this is the worst defensive performance I can recall. The thing is, UTSA is NOT a good team, better than their record indicates, but not good. Yes, I doubt the old SWAC games, 65-52 kind of scores, would be as inept defensively as we are. Having said that, if we win this thing, and we CAN WIN, it might surpass the Kentucky game as one of the best comebacks ever. Let's go eagles.

Just in case anybody thought we were becoming a good football team, let this pull you back down to earth. What's disappointing—beyond the obvious—is that it's not like we're playing to the best of our abilities and simply getting outplayed by a better football team. It's that we're erratic, inconsistent, undisciplined, and appear to be ill-prepared. You don't recruit your way out of that. I'm afraid we're in for this for a while. Middle of the pack of a bottom dweller conference. (And if it wasn't for the long ball last week, Rice would've kicked our butts, too.)

Last edited:
8 wins looks optimistic....thanks to one of the weakest schedules in the NCAA.